Across the United States, lawmakers, prosecutors and law enforcement officials take driving under the influence of alcohol very seriously. While other dangerous behaviors behind the wheel, such as distracted driving, have been garnering more attention lately, DUIs are still one of the biggest reasons for injuries and fatalities on the road. To prevent drivers from having an accident and injuring or killing others, attempts will be made to catch and penalize them.
Some states treat DUI more harshly than others, and new research indicates Georgia is one of the strictest states in the nation. Those arrested and charged must be aware of this and make sure to think about a strong defense strategy. In the recent study, the statistics for fatal accidents and accidents with injuries on the road because of DUI were assessed. The laws of the states were also factored in. States were rated from 1 to 100, with 100 being the states that treat DUI charges harshest.
Georgia came in third after Minnesota and Utah. In Georgia, the threshold to be convicted for DUI is 0.08% blood alcohol concentration. There is an increased penalty if the driver registers 0.15%. For every 100,000 drivers, there are 247 DUI arrests. People convicted for DUI for a first-offense get 10 days in jail; a second conviction will lead to 90 days; and a third will result in 120 days. Fines include $300 for a first offense; $600 for a second offense; and $1,000 for a third offense. Drivers’ licenses will be suspended for six months after a first offense; 60 months after a second offense; and 120 months after a third offense. A fourth DUI will be a felony. Repeat offenders must get an ignition interlock device.
While it is never advisable to get behind the wheel after drinking alcohol, allegations that a person did so do not automatically mean the person is guilty. There could be ancillary issues, the traffic stop might not have been done properly, the evidence could be tainted or there could be options to craft a defense to DUI charges.